Daring Bakers – Twelve Days of Cookies

Holiday season is the time for sharing and Peta of Peta Eats is sharing a dozen cookies, some classics and some of her own, from all over the world with us.

November’s Daring Bakers challenge was right up my alley! Cookies!! And a plethora of recipes to choose from. When I first saw the challenge I envisioned myself making many different varieties before the month was up.

You see, I signed up for my son’s school’s cookie walk which acts as a fundraiser for the school and an opportunity for me to get in my service hours for the year. Since I need to make at least 300 cookies I thought some of these recipes would be great. Unfortunately, I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to do these in bite size form, which is what they are asking for this year, and I also wasn’t sure how  well they would freeze. Because I don’t have much extra time between my classroom, family, physical health/nutrition/exercise and let alone any down time, I decided to stick with one new recipe and one tried and true recipe.

I have been looking at baking the Chocolate Hazelnut Crinkle cookies for a few years and have never gotten around to it. I thought that would be a perfect “new” recipe to choose. The dough came together easily, I chilled them overnight, and then rolled and baked them the next day. The recipe seems pretty foolproof and the cookies are pretty tasty. I didn’t think they were overly chocolately, but then again I like chocolate. My mom and husband who are not as big of fans of chocolate as I am thought they were good but a bit too much chocolate for them. To each his own, I guess. 🙂

Chocolate Hazelnut Crinkle Cookies

You can find the Chocolate Hazelnut Crinkle Cookie recipe here.

The peppermint candy sugar cookies were a new version of my “tried and true” recipe. I bought a few new Christmas cookie cutters and this was my chance to try them out. I also made hats, mittens, and ornaments but I’ll wait until later to reveal those.

I think I am going to go back and do a bit more piping on some of the candies. I sprinkled them with disco dust to liven them up but I think the details of the extra icing add a bit more to the cookie.

“Peppermint Candy” Sugar Cookie with Royal Icing

You can find the Sugar Cookie and Royal Icing recipes here. Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Twelve Days of Cookies

  1. LOL – this challenge was right up your alley! You are a sugar cookie queen, and these look SO perfect. And so funny about the difference in opinion regarding the chocolatiness (is that a word?) of the crinkle cookies. 🙂 Really great job!!

Leave a Reply

