Train Birthday Cake

IMG_7891

You know how when you have an idea of what you want something to look like but you aren’t sure that you can actually make that happen? Well, times that by two.

A few weeks ago I had my son sketch me out what he wanted his cake to be decorated like for his 6th birthday. I think I’ve set the bar too high with high previous birthdays because he brought in a very detailed sketch with particular things he wanted on his cake. I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to make it happen this year.

I think he thought I wasn’t going to be able to make it happen either because for the past few nights at bedtime in his prayers he made sure to ask God to help me get going on his cake because I didn’t have much time. And then when he was out with Grandma for his birthday dinner yesterday he confided in her that he didn’t think I understood what he wanted because it was going to take a lot of work and I hadn’t even started on his cake yet. Little did he know!

I wanted everything on his cake this year to be edible (well, except the candles) so I had to do some scheming to figure it out. It was my husband who came up with the idea of making cookies (since I have an affinity for cookies) and sandwiching them together so they would stand up on the track. Brilliant!

I have a few train cutters so the difficult part was sketching out and making my own pattern of the railroad crossing arm and the car. That arm was a piece of work! It sketched out pretty well but when it baked there weren’t two of them that ended up being exactly alike so I wasn’t able to do any sandwiching together. Well, throw that in with the fact that the cookie is very soft (which is how you want it to be when eating it) and you’ve got a headache and a half when you try to stand it up to hold its own weight. It started breaking apart, then I’d try to patch it with icing. It ended up being a “Hurry up and come in here to blow out your candles because I’m not going to be able to carry it and it’s going to fall over, QUICK!”

The real test though is whether it passed the cake designers specific expectations. Yes! He said that it exceeded his expectations (yes, those were his words), although later at bedtime he did mention that he originally had asked for two roads, one on each side of the cake, and he noticed that there was only one. I explained to him that there just wasn’t room for everything he requested and he accepted that. Whew. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

