Roast Turkey

Carved Roasted Turkey

I tried a new turkey recipe for Thanksgiving this year. I usually oil up the bird, shake on some salt, pepper, and paprika, and seal it in a brown paper bag and let it bake. The only problem is that turkeys don’t seem like my oven. Every Thanksgiving the turkey always, and I mean always, takes longer than the projected time. So frustrating.

This year I decided to go away from the norm and try a new recipe hoping that this would also solve the uncooked bird dilemma that has been haunting me for years. I whipped up the rub, lifted up the skin, and rubbed it into the meat. I would have to say that this was a first for me. The bird was easy to make and required no basting throughout the roasting process.

I am sad to say that it didn’t solve the cooking dilemma. Still, after the projected amount of time for the size of the bird it was not all the way done. At least I’ve learned to anticipate this and roll with the punches. I time my side dishes to be done at least 30 minutes after the turkey. Whew!

The other downfall was that I wasn’t left with enough liquid to make the gravy. Not sure how it was all sucked into the bird but it was not there in the bottom of the pan. I guess it’s good that I had some jar stuff in the cupboard. I haven’t included the ingredients for the gravy in the recipe below. The turkey was tasty (once it finished roasting). Enjoy!

Roast Turkey
Source: Taste of Home magazine

2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon reduced-sodium soy sauce
1 teaspoon olive oil
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 (12-14 lb) turkey
1 large onion, quartered
1 (10 oz) package white mushrooms
1 cup low-sodium chicken broth

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Spray a large roasting pan and rack with nonstick spray.

Mix garlic, soy sauce, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Remove neck and giblets from turkey cavities and discard. Drain turkey; pat dry. Slip your fingers under skin covering breast to create pockets over both breast halves and legs. Rub garlic mixture into meat under skin. Close cavities with metal skewers. Tuck wings under breast and tie legs with kitchen string.

Scatter onion and white mushrooms in roasting pan. Put turkey, breast side up, on rack. Add 1 cup broth to pan; roast 20 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees. Roast until instant-read thermometer inserted 2 inches into inner thigh (without touching bone) registers 180 degrees F, 2 1/2 to 3 hours. Place turkey on cutting board. Tent with foil; let stand 20 minutes.

Remove string and carve turkey; serve with gravy. Remove skin before eating.

Leave a Reply

