Banana Nut Pancakes

Banana Nut Pancakes

These are SO good! I was looking for some recipes that I could eat that would be a bit more low cal. I love recipes that are lower in calories and yet still taste good, and these fit both of those categories. (And you’ll have to check out the blog site listed as the source for this recipe because I’ve found quite a few of great recipes there.)

My family gobbled these down so fast that I was a little disappointed I hadn’t made more. That wasn’t how it started out at first though. My little guy, who is a picky 6 year old, was being a bit snooty and decided that he didn’t want to eat any. What? What! I couldn’t believe it. Pancakes. Bananas. No, no, no. Stubborn little boy. Well, his momma proved to be more stubborn.

Of course, I almost went overboard on stubborn by saying something like, “Fine, you don’t want to eat them then I guess you won’t get breakfast. No, no, you said you didn’t even want to try them. No, you don’t need to eat.” I may or may not have said something like that. You will be happy to know though that I acted more adult than it sounded and I did actually let him eat his pancakes. I even gave him seconds. Enjoy!

Banana Nut Pancakes
Source: Skinnytaste

1 cup whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 large very ripe banana, mashed
1 cup 1% milk
3 large egg whites
2 teaspoon oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons chopped walnuts (optional)

Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl. Combine banana, milk, egg whites, oil, and vanilla; mix until smooth. Combine wet ingredients with the dry and mix well with a spoon until there are no dry spots. (Don’t over mix.)

Heat a large skillet or griddle. Spray with cooking spray to lightly coat. Pour 1/4 cup of batter onto the skillet/griddle. When the batter starts to bubble and the edges begin to set, flip the pancakes. Repeat with the remained of the batter. Sprinkle with chopped walnuts, if desired.

Makes about 12 pancakes

Leave a Reply

