Dulce de Leche Brownies

Dulce de Leche Brownies

Where in the world did my write up go on this sweet chocolate treat? I went on and on about how I made this for a Mexican themed party for our running group. How I normally like my brownies with a “cake” like texture and these turned out “fudgy”. But it seems to have disappeared.

I really did think that these were going to be heavenly. They were pretty easy to put together, I whisked them out of the oven and into the car so we could get to our party on time. We ended up going to the wrong house but soon got to our desired destination with brownies that were still very warm. I set them on the table with the other desserts so they could cool while we were all eating the main course.

After what should have been a decent amount of cooling time I took the pan into the kitchen, got out a large butcher knife, popped the brownies out of the pan and cut about a quarter of them off the rest. They were so sticky I couldn’t believe it! The marshmallow fluff was stuck all over the knife. I rinsed it off and made another cut, same thing. I realized that if I did this with every single brownie (and every single side of the brownie) I’d be spending most of the time washing the knife in between cuts.

I ended up putting a spoon in the pan and setting it back on the table so people could just scoop it out. For those who like “fudge” type  brownies these would be great. For those who like “cake” type brownies these won’t be quite as satisfying. Either way, give them a try. Enjoy!

Dulce de Leche Brownies
Source: Better Homes and Gardens

6 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 (13.4 oz) can dulce de leche
1 (7 oz) jar marshmallow creme
1/2 cup chopped pecans, toasted

Leave a Reply

