Pecan Pie

Pecan Pie

I believe this is my very first pecan pie. I know, amazing isn’t it. Who has never made a pecan pie before? It isn’t even a holiday season or anything either.

This was another one of those recipes from Pie. There were many to choose from but Pecan Pie won out over Green Tomato Pie, Peanut Butter Raspberry Cream Pie, and Sour Cherry Pie just to name a few.

Raw Pecan Pie

Isn’t this raw pie pretty? I almost think it is prettier than the baked version since you can see the variety of coloring between the nuts and filling.

The pie was easy enough to throw together. Where the difficulty started was after about an hour in the oven. I guess I didn’t realize that pecan pies are notorious for not getting done in the center. I left it in for another 5 minutes and checked it. Still not done. I left it in for another 5 and checked the internet for some details. Checked it and still not done. If I recall correctly I think I finally took it out after about an extra 15 minutes hoping that it would thicken up as it cooled.

Baked Pecan Pie

The finished product!

You can see that it did harden up, just not in the center. As you sliced the pie and served it on a plate the filling oozed a bit but it tasted delicious. I will definitely make one again, I’ll just try to read up on the tips for baking it so the center comes out more solid. Enjoy!

Pecan Pie
Source: Pie by Sarah Weeks

1 tablespoon butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
3 eggs, beaten
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup chopped pecans, pluse 6-8 pecan halves for the top
1 unbaked 9 inch pie shell

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Cream butter and sugar; add syrup and well-beaten eggs, salt, and vanilla. Mix well. Add the pecans. Pour into unbaked pie shell. Line the top with pecan halves.

Bake for 1 hour.

One thought on “Pecan Pie

Leave a Reply

