Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts

Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts

Hey, I’m finally getting around to writing up this post. It has been crazy busy around here and wouldn’t you know, when you get busy some things get put on the back burner. Not only has the blog been put on the back burner but I really haven’t been experimenting in the kitchen either.

I’ve gotten to where I have been watching what I eat so I haven’t been straying much from what I know best and then when life gets busy we end up eating out way more than we should so then I’m not necessarily cooking either. It seems to be a no win situation. Ugh. But I digress, back to the doughnuts.

While these doughnuts may not look like they came out of a bakery they sure did taste good and they weren’t too difficult to make. I was pretty excited that they came out somewhat round because I don’t have a donut pan. By the way, is it doughnut or donut? My spellchecker says doughnut, my type A English teacher personality says doughnut, but society seems okay with donut.

Anyway, back to the doughnut. They were very tasty, very easy to make, and I’ve made them more than one time because my family enjoyed them so much. Enjoy!

Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts
Source: Recipe Girl

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup canned pure pumpkin
2 large eggs
1/4 cup nonfat milk
1/4 cup butter, softened

Icing:
1 cup sifted powder sugar
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 to 4 teaspoons nonfat milk

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease two baking sheets (or donut pans).

Prepare doughnuts: In a medium mixing bowl, stir together flour, brown sugar, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, salt and baking soda. Add pumpkin, eggs, milk, and butter; beat with an electric mixer on low speed until mixed.

Spoon the mixture into a pastry bag fitted with a large star tip with a 1/2-inch opening. Pipe onto prepared baking sheets in 3-inch circles (or pipe onto donut pans). Bake 10 minutes, or until golden brown. Cool doughnuts on a rack over waxed paper.

Prepare icing: In a small mixing bowl stir together powdered sugar and vanilla. Stir in enough milk to make a smooth icing of glazing consistency. Spoon icing over doughnuts.

Makes about a dozen doughnuts

Leave a Reply

