Neapolitan Cupcakes

Neopolitan Cupcakes

Lately I have been going through a dry spell. And it kind of feels like it is in a lot of different areas of my life. And baking and this blog seem to be no exception. I have some recipes that I haven’t posted saved up so I’ll get those up and going over these next few months while we take off on a 2 month biking adventure. When I come back I will either be revived and ready to start baking and posting again, or I’ll have made the decision to pull the plug on this blog. I know. It will be a sad day for me too but there comes a time when all things must come to an end. I’m just not sure if this time has come or not.

Anyway . . . enough of the heavy stuff. I thought these would be fun to make for a baby shower this spring. Strawberry, chocolate, vanilla. Who can go wrong with those three flavors? I mean, really, no matter what flavor you like you have it in this cupcake. And they were pretty fun to make!

You might think they would be complicated to make but really they weren’t too difficult. You only had to mix up one batch of batter, divide it into thirds, add strawberry to one third and chocolate to another third and leave the last third alone.

Trying to evenly scoop all three flavors was probably the most difficult part. That and making the frosting. Again, you take one batch of frosting, divide it into thirds and make three different flavors. It was the fact that I had to use so many different bowls and piping bags that just about sent me over the edge.

And, truth be told, after all that work they were a bit dry. I know, I was disappointed too. I don’t know if I left them in a teeny bit too long or what. They sure were pretty though! Enjoy!

Neapolitan Cupcakes
Source: My Baking Addiction

Cupcakes:
2 1/4 cups cake flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 egg whites
1 1/4 cups milk
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup strawberry jam

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line two muffin pans with cupcake liners.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.

In another medium bowl, whisk together the egg whites and milk.

In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar together until light and crumbly. Beat in the vanilla extract.

Add half of the flour and half of the egg mixtures to the butter mixture; beat until well-blended. Add the other half of flour and egg mixtures and beat until well-blended.

Split the batter into thirds. Set aside one third of the mixture. For the second, beat in the cocoa powder. For the third, beat in the jam.

Drop some of each of the three colored batters into the cupcake liners. Swirl with a knife to create a marbled effect, if desired.

Bake 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.

Makes about 2 dozen cupcakes

Frosting:
1 cup butter, softened
6 cups powdered sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 tablespoons heavy cream
2 tablespoon cocoa powder
1 tablespoon strawberry jam

Beat the butter until pale. Beat in the vanilla extract, then gradually beat in the powdered sugar and heavy cream, half at a time. Split into thirds and set aside one third of the frosting. Add cocoa powder to the second, and strawberry jam to the third. Frost the cupcakes as desired.

Leave a Reply

