Daring Bakers – Life of Pie

Strawberry Pie

Rachael from pizzarossa was our lovely June 2013 Daring Bakers’ host and she had us whipping up delicious pies in our kitchens! Cream pies, fruit pies, chocolate pies, even crack pies! There’s nothing like pie!

I thought the challenge for this month was great! I love pie! I love it so much that I completed this challenge at the beginning of the month and I made all three pies on the same day. Did I mention how much I love pie?

Actually, in all honesty, I’m really more of a cake eater, it’s the rest of my family who likes to eat pie. I usually put away at least one piece but if I have my choice I’ll usually choose another sweet to eat. I love to bake pie though, even if I don’t consume a lot of it.

I was pretty excited to get all three pies done in the same evening. I ended up making them for an end of the school year celebration at work so I wanted to knock them out0 in one night so they would be fresh.

I made the fresh strawberry pie first. I followed the directions to a “t” and even read in the comments where a few people had trouble with their filling setting. I read her comments back and proceeded to make sure that mine did exactly what it was supposed to. I was pretty pleased when I pulled it out of the oven and it looked delicious and like it had behaved perfectly.

Imagine my surprise the next morning when I pulled it out of the fridge to cut a piece for my husband before taking it to work and realized as soon as I put the knife in that something was wrong. Jiggle, jiggle. It filled back in where the knife had cut. Uh oh.

Too bad that it had looked exactly how it should have while cooking and you don’t know until you can’t do anything about it that you should have added a bit more cornstarch. Oh well. I took it to work anyway and left a nice little note letting people know that it was baked thoroughly but it had not set properly and  the whipped cream was in the fridge. Not many people were willing to see past the soupy strawberry filling at first when you had two other delectable desserts sitting there. I tried it though, and while it might have been soupy it tasted really, really, really good. And I was amazed because the crust was still as   crisp and flakey as ever under that soupy strawberry filling.

The next one down was the crack pie. What a great name for a pie! I had so many people at work wondering what in the world crack pie was. Some were bold enough to ask, others just wondered and listened to the explanation. I won’t go into detail with this description here because I am actually going to dedicate a post to it in a few days time. It really needs its own post to do it justice. I will say that I think this one also didn’t get quite done in the center either. It still tasted great but it was another unknown until cutting into it the next day.

I’m sorry to say that the chocolate caramel tart suffered the same fate. Very delicious and the people at work were unsuspecting, but I had seen enough pictures of the finished tarts to know that the caramel was not supposed to ooze all over the plate after it was cut into.

Maybe it was the fact that I tried to make all three in one evening. Maybe it was the fact that I was paranoid about overcooking or burning them. Maybe it was the fact that they all looked beautifully done until they were cut into the next day. Whatever the case may be, I would give all three of these a thumbs up and a repeat baking attempt to try to fix the problem. I’m sure I’d have some willing taste testers. Enjoy!

Fresh Strawberry Pie
Source: Short Stop Blog

1 quart (about 2 pounds) fresh strawberries
1 cup sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch
juice of 1/2 a lemon
1 unbaked pie crust
whipping cream, optional

Wash strawberries and hull (removing green tops and core). Chop half of the berries into small pieces. Place chopped berries into a saucepan and begin to cook over medium heat.

Mix sugar and cornstarch in a small bowl; add to pan with crushed berries. Add lemon juice and cook on low heat for about 10 minutes or until mixture thickens. Remove from heat.

Cut remaining strawberries into halves and mix with the cooked mixture.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Place pie crust into a 9” or 10” pie plate. Flute edges. Prick with fork all over. Place piece of foil inside pie crust, lightly pressing around inside bottom edges of crust. Fill with dried beans. (The beans allow the pie crust to keep its shape.)

Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and remove beans and foil. Return to oven and bake for 5 minutes until edges are golden brown.

Pour strawberry mixture into baked pie shell. Chill in refrigerator for 2 hours or until pie is set. Serve with whipped cream, if desired.

Makes 1 pie

3 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Life of Pie

  1. I’m so impressed that you made three pies in one evening! My crack pie oozed in the middle too. It’s so hard to tell sometimes when it’s done. The edges looked like they were burning and the middle barely jiggled so I thought I was done! Oh well, they’re all delicious even when they ooze!

Leave a Reply

