Daring Bakers – Mawa Cake and Bolinhas de Coco Cookies

IMG_8714

Aparna of My Diverse Kitchen was our August 2013 Daring Bakers’ hostess and she challenged us to make some amazing regional Indian desserts. The Mawa Cake, the Bolinhas de Coco cookies and the Masala cookies – beautifully spiced and delicious!

I CANNOT BELIEVE I COMPLETED THE CHALLENGE!!!!!

Was that a little intense for an introduction? I just really can’t believe that I finished it. And with about 90 minutes to spare before the deadline. This has been an unusual summer for us and it feels like I am just really getting back into the groove of being back home so I thought I might have to take a pass on this month’s challenge.

Let me give you a quick catch up. Almost immediately after getting checked out of my classroom back in June we headed out on our bike trip of the California Coast. We spent about 7 weeks pedaling 1,250 miles. It was awesome! We rode the train home (another awesome) and then 48 hours later the hubby and I flew across the US to check out a car. We bought the car and drove the 3,000 miles back across to our side of the country. By then I was chomping at the bit to get back into my classroom to get ready for this coming school year. Not only that but it was a little strange just doing all the regular routine stuff we hadn’t done for the past two months.

So, back to the Daring Bakers challenge for this month. I bought the ingredients with my weekly groceries thinking that if I had some spare time I’d give two of the recipes a shot. I started with the cookies. I thought those might be a bit easier and quicker. My husband really seemed to enjoy them but my son and I weren’t big fans, I guess we favor a plain old chocolate chip. I would have to say that I did like them a bit better after they sat for a few days. They didn’t puff up as much as I thought they would, but I think they were passable.

IMG_8705

For the cake I barely came in under the wire. I reduced the full fat milk this morning, went to work in my classroom, went to my son’s open house and BBQ, came home and got him to bed before his first day tomorrow and then started on the actual cake. You can’t believe how happy I was that it came together so easily and seems to have baked up perfectly. I’m not sure if it will deflate a bit by tomorrow morning but right now it is still puffed and perfect! The only negative is that most of the almonds sunk down into the cake.

IMG_8712

Sorry I don’t have pretty pictures or much about the baking process in my post. I didn’t really think I would be posting anything this month. I will update with the actual recipes in the next few days but right now I need to hit the hay because tomorrow is my son’s first day of school and my first work day back. Yahoo for Daring Bakers challenges!!

3 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Mawa Cake and Bolinhas de Coco Cookies

  1. Wow, what a wonderful holiday you have had and busy as well! I didn’t make the coconut cookies but the marsala cookies were great! Your cake looks amazing! I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

