Apple Filled Dutch Babies

IMG_8742

Well, hello there to the one or two of you who may still be reading!! It’s been a while. I guess you can say that I’ve been on a bit of a blogging hiatus. No real reason, just a busy time of year and the little bit of time I had to blog was spent on updating our family blog with our summer adventures.

I’m excited to have some recipes on the back burner so I can get back into a posting schedule. I found that once we got back from our bike trip and I started cooking and baking again I had gotten out of the habit of taking pictures of our new recipes. What a bummer when all 48 cookies disappear overnight and I’ve forgotten to take a picture!

So let’s get onto today’s post, shall we? A few years ago when Pinterest first came out (has it really been a few years already?) I pinned a recipe for mini German pancakes. I briefly thought about making them on a camping trip but then realized that our camping trailer oven was not big enough for a full sized muffin pan. And then it seems like I promptly forgot about them until a few days ago. A friend of mine linked the recipe on Facebook (yes, another form of social media) and brought it to my attention again. I knew it was the time to bite the bullet and try them out.

Since I had pinned the original recipe I went back and read the comments from all of the partakers and made my action plan. I followed the recipe just about to the letter, but made a few small changes. I blended the milk and flour together first so there wouldn’t be flour balls in the batter. I also let the batter rest for about 20 minutes after blending everything together, and I added a bit of club soda to the batter as I churned it up after the rest time.

They don’t look like the original ones but looks aren’t everything, right? They puffed up great but they didn’t go quite as concave as hers did. I know that she used a “straight sided” muffin tin whereas mine is the typical “tapered” style. While they might not be as beautiful they still got rave reviews from my family. I used homemade apple pie filling and homemade apple syrup to accompany them and it was the perfect Saturday breakfast for a crisp fall day. Enjoy!

Dutch Babies
Source: Real Mom Kitchen

1 cup milk
1 cup flour
6 eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon orange zest (optional)
1/4 cup butter, melted
club soda (optional)

In a blender, blend the milk and flour together. Blend in the eggs, salt, vanilla, and orange zest. Slowly add the melted butter a little at a time. Let batter sit for 20 minutes. Add a bit of club soda and briefly blend.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and grease muffin tin. Pour 1/4 cup batter into each muffin tin. (I only got 14 in my batch. Others have gotten more so I’m not sure what I did.)

Bake for 15 minutes or until golden on top and puffy. Remove from oven. Serve with desired topping.

Makes 14 (according to what I got out of the batter)

Apple Pie Filling
Source: Taste of Home

2/3 cup sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1 1/4 cups cold water
3 cups apples, peeled and diced
1 teaspoon vanilla

Combine the sugar, cornstarch, and cold water in a medium saucepan. Stir until smooth; bring to a boil. Cook and stir for about 2 minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat. Stir in apples and vanilla. Return to heat and cook at low/medium-low until the mixture browns and the apples become soft (about 15 minutes).

Cider Apple Syrup

1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1/8 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1 cup apple cider
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons butter

Combine the sugar, cornstarch and pumpkin pie spice in a saucepan. Gradually stir in cider and lemon juice until smooth. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Remove from the heat; stir in butter until melted. Serve warm.

Makes 1 1/3 cups syrup

5 thoughts on “Apple Filled Dutch Babies

  1. I made these Kim, a double batch because there are a bunch of us. I invited my parents over and put three different jams on the table and some locally made Apple butter. My Dad said, oh pop overs. And my husband said, oh Yorkshire pudding. I looked it up and sure enough they were both right. They were both happy to have something their moms made from childhood. So I am making roast tonight and having the left overs with it (probably another batch too, they are so easy to make.

Leave a Reply

