Daring Bakers – Tres Leches Cake

IMG_8772Inma of la Galletika was our Sept. 2013 Daring Bakers’ hostess and WOW did she bring us something decadent and delicious! Pastel de Tres Leches or Three Milk Cake, creamy yet airy, super moist but not soggy. just plain delish!

Yahoo! It’s Daring Bakers time and for once I completed the challenge and don’t feel a time crunch. How awesome is that!

I have seen my fair share of Tres Leches cakes but had yet to partake of one, let alone bake one. Which is kind of strange since  I live in a community where the Mexican influence is very strong and I teach in a school where we have many students from the Latin culture.

I think I shied away from this cake for so many years because the thought of soggy cake turns me off. Yes that’s sad, I know. I don’t know what it is about soggy bread or cake but I just can’t do it. I tried to make a strata one time for breakfast and I was really unnerved at having to let the french toast sit in the egg mixture overnight in the fridge. I thought that maybe the magic would happen in the oven the next day when it baked, but it didn’t. It was still soggy the next day after baking and while everyone in my family proclaimed it delicious I had to make myself something else to eat. Maybe that gave me a bad taste (or feel) in my mouth when it comes to the thought of “soaking” a bread material.

I did sweat a bit during the cake mixing portion. I was so worried about beating the eggs too much and making them fall flat that I probably didn’t mix the chocolate into the batter as much as I could have. I love the marble effect it had though.

IMG_8748

The cake sliced in half easily and I started in with my drenching of the “three milks”. I was a bit quizzical that I could get all of the mixture into my cake because it seemed like A LOT in the bowl. I kept brushing it on, letting it sit, brushing it on, letting it sit. Finally at about 11:15pm I had to call it good. I still had “milk” left but I couldn’t take any more time between brushings. I put it in the fridge, hoped for the best, and figured maybe it would be good for me since it wouldn’t be quite so “soggy” with less milk used.

IMG_8753

IMG_8754

Since it was a Sunday and our football team was playing I decided to decorate it with coconut tinted with our team’s colors. Good luck charm? Absolutely! We won again so that’s got to count for something.

IMG_8759

I enjoyed this challenge! It was easy to do and it pushed me out of my comfort zone to try something I was familiar with but had yet to bake. Enjoy!

You can find the recipe here until I get a chance to type it up.

2 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Tres Leches Cake

Leave a Reply

