Brownie Batter Pancakes

Brownie Batter Cupcakes

I love just about anything chocolate! Breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert; basically any time of the day as long as it doesn’t have coffee mixed in with it. You can imagine my surprise then when I ended up feeling kind of ho hum about these pancakes.

I had them on my menu for quite a few weeks. I would write them down and then life would get busy on a Saturday morning and pretty soon it would be afternoon and I wouldn’t have made them for breakfast. Well, that finally changed one Saturday morning toward the beginning of October.

I popped the recipe up and got to work on making the batter. I thought, hmmmmm, this doesn’t seem like it is making much. Nope. I didn’t realize that the recipe was for 1 serving. Oops, I guess I’ll have to triple the recipe so that all three of us can eat.

I poured the batter on the griddle and I waited and waited. I wondered how I would be able to tell whether they were done when they were already dark. I finally figured it out when my nose told me there was a slightly burnt smell. Yep, first batch turned out okay but a little overdone. Round 2 fared a bit better. I was able to tell when they were done without getting them too crispy.  After I fed the other members of the family, I decided that for round 3 I would make the pancakes a little bit bigger than called for so I could try to capture a decent picture. It was funny how they turned out just a bit smaller than the next.

While this recipe was something different to try, I don’t think you’ll see it on our kitchen table again. Just not very filling, not really a great chocolate taste, and I guess I like my pancakes a bit more fluffy. If you try it, I hope you are able to find a way to enjoy it!

Brownie Batter Pancakes
Source: Skinnytaste

1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder
1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon sugar
pinch of salt
1 1/2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 1/2 tablespoons milk (or non-dairy milk)

Mix dry ingredients (from flour to salt) very well, then add wet (applesauce to milk). Pour batter on preheated griddle. Cook until edges are dry. Flip and cook opposite side for about 1 minute longer.

Makes 1 serving (about 3 medium sized pancakes)

Leave a Reply

