Banana Chocolate Chip Zucchini Cookies

Banana Chocolate Chip Zucchini Cookies

What, another squash recipe? Why, yes, of course. There has to be some way to share yummy recipes with others who are trying to use up those zealously producing plants.

I wasn’t sure at first bite if I was going to love these cookies, but they definitely grew on me. Most likely the main reason was that they looked so pale and cakey when they came out of the oven. I am used to my chocolate chip cookies being golden brown and slightly crisp. These were not. I was worried that they were still raw based on the color of the top of the cookie, but when checking the bottom I could see that they were browned like they were supposed to be.

The convincing factor was that they freeze really well. I sealed them in a gallon ziploc freezer bag, stuck them in the freezer, and have proceeded to take one or two out here or there over the month or so that they have been in our house. I am down to the last five or so and I am debating about whether I should make another batch to freeze. I’m just not sure if I need more sweets in the house right now, but they were a great way to use up some squash. Enjoy!

**You can see from the photo that I used both green zucchini and yellow summer squash. Both are interchangeable in the squash recipes that I post.**

Banana Chocolate Chip Zucchini Cookies
Source: Inside Bru Crew Life

3/4 cup shortening
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 cups grated zucchini or summer squash, squeezed dry
2 ripe bananas, mashed
3 3/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream the shortening and sugar. Add the eggs and beat again. Stir in zucchini and banana.

Sift together the dry ingredients. Slowly add to wet ingredients until incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips by hand.

Drop by spoonfuls onto baking sheets. Bake for 10 minutes; cool on pan for 2 minutes. Remove to wire rack to cool completely. Store in a sealed container; can be frozen.

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

Leave a Reply

